NEWS

BOOK DEAL

Nina Dunic’s debut novel The Clarion, a contemporary novel in the literary realist tradition of Alice Munro, Mavis Gallant, and Miriam Toews that follows the lives of two siblings and explores their rituals of connection and belonging in a lonely and crowded world, and Everything Would Break, a collection of sharply observed stories about the extraordinary moments that illuminate ordinary lives, have been acquired by Norm Nehmetallah at Invisible Publishing, in a two-book deal, for publication in fall 2023 and spring 2025 respectively (North America).

April 25, 2022

BOOK DEAL

Brad Fox’s The Bathysphere Book, a work of creative nonfiction that braids together original archival research with reportage and speculation to craft a compelling account of deep ocean explorer William Beebe’s Bathysphere expeditions off the island of Nonsuch, in the Bermuda Archipelago, between 1930 and 1934, has been acquired by Ben Schrank at Astra House, for publication in Spring 2023 (World).

April 14, 2022

MELISSA WILEY PASSES AWAY

The entire WLA family grieves the loss of our client and friend Melissa Wiley, who passed away on April 8. Melissa was an editor at Sundog Lit and author of two books: Antlers in Space and Other Common Phenomena and Skull Cathedral, which was longlisted for the 2021 PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay and winner of the 2019 Autumn House Press Nonfiction Prize. Melissa earned a Master’s in Publishing and Writing from DePaul University and her essays and short stories appeared widely in various literary magazines, including DIAGRAM, Entropy, The Rumpus, Waxwing, American Literary Review, The Offing, and PANK. Survived by her sister Melanie Wiley Bachmeyer and husband Robert DiBlasi, Melissa was an incredibly thoughtful and amazing person and writer—she will be missed.

April 11, 2022

BOOK DEAL

Will Rees’s Hypochondria, a work of literary nonfiction combining cultural criticism, biography, memoir, and history to inquire into the experience of hypochondria, its pains and possibilities, has been acquired by Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books (World).

March 7, 2022

BOOK DEAL

Phillip Maciak’s Avidly Reads Screentime, a work of cultural criticism and cultural history about how we define screens and how they define us in the streaming era, has been acquired by Eric Zinner at New York University Press, as part of the Avidly Reads series edited by Sarah Mesle, for publication in spring of 2023 (World).

February 23, 2022

WLA WELCOMES BRAD FOX

Brad Fox is a writer, journalist, translator, and former relief contractor living in New York. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, The Paris Review Daily, Guernica, and other places. His novel To Remain Nameless (Rescue Press, 2020) was a finalist for the Big Other Fiction award and a staff pick at The Paris Review. He has been a resident at the Sacatar Foundation in Brazil and La Napoule in France. He has received grants and awards from the CUNY Center for the Humanities, the Futures Initiative, the Berlin Senat, and the Roma World Congress. He has an MFA from Hunter College and a PhD from the CUNY Graduate Center. He has taught literature and writing at City College in Harlem, and has been featured on podcasts such as Writers Voices, The Other Stories, the Downtown Writers Jam, and DIYMFA. Brad is at work on two books of literary nonfiction.

January 31, 2022

BOOK DEAL

Geoffrey D. Morrison’s debut novel Falling Hour has been acquired by Alana Wilcox at Coach House Books, with Giller Prize winner André Alexis editing, for publication in February 2023 (World). At once an extended meditation, rumination, treatise, and rant, Falling Hour is in conversation with novels like Bina by Anakana Schofield, Ducks, Newburyport by Lucy Ellmann, Aphasia by Mauro Javier Cárdenas, and After Absalon by Simon Okotie.

January 24, 2022

BOOK DEAL

Babak Lakghomi’s debut novel South has been acquired by Russell Smith at Rare Machines, the new Dundurn Press imprint dedicated to experimental and boundary-breaking books, for publication in spring/summer 2023 (World). South is a surreal novel in the vein of Jesse Ball, Cristina Rivera Garza, and Anna Kavan, a reimagination of the Middle East as an example of a world led by corporations and corrupt governments and in which a journalist is on a mysterious mission to write a report about recent strikes in an offshore oil rig.

January 4, 2022

BOOK DEAL

We’re so thrilled to announce that Jason Jobin’s literary memoir, The Wild Mandrake, has been acquired by Julie Mannell at Dundurn Press, for a fall 2023 publication (World). Told through fragmented, nonlinear vignettes, The Wild Mandrake explores Jason’s experience as a young writer faced with a recurring cancer as he launches into adulthood, weaving together themes relating to health, illness, coming of age, capitalism, work, and writing.

December 9, 2021

WLA WELCOMES ROBIN MYERS

Robin Myers is a poet, essayist, and translator. Among her recent publications are Cars on Fire by Mónica Ramón Ríos (Open Letter, 2020), The Restless Dead by Cristina Rivera Garza (Vanderbilt University Press, 2020), and The Science of Departures by Adalber Salas Hernández (Kenning Editions, 2021). Forthcoming translations include The Book of Explanations by Tedi López Mills (Deep Vellum), Bariloche by Andrés Neuman (Open Letter), Copy by Dolores Dorantes (Wave), and Tonight: The Great Earthquake by Leonardo Teja (PANK Books). She was a winner of the 2019 Poems in Translation Contest (Words Without Borders/Academy of American Poets). Robin’s poems have appeared in Yale Review, Poetry Northwest, Washington Square Review, Massachusetts Review, and elsewhere. She lives in Mexico City, where she is working on a book of essays about translating poetry and a collection of poems.

November 30, 2021

WLA WELCOMES PHILLIP MACIAK

Phillip Maciak is a cultural critic and the TV editor at The Los Angeles Review of Books. In addition to LARB—where he co-founded the “Dear Television” column—his television, film, and literary criticism has appeared in Slate, The New Republic, Film Quarterly, The Week, and a variety of other venues. He is the author of a book about religion and early cinema called The Disappearing Christ: Secularism and the Silent Era (Columbia University Press, 2019). He is currently at work on a book about moral panics and screen time. He teaches in English and American Culture Studies at Washington University in St. Louis.

November 22, 2021

WLA WELCOMES DUSTIN ILLINGWORTH

Dustin Illingworth is a writer and literary critic. His work has appeared in The New York Review of Books, The New Yorker, The New York Times Book Review, The Nation, The Atlantic, The Times Literary Supplement, The Baffler, New Left Review, The Point, and Poetry. He writes a column for The Paris Review on reissued and translated fiction. He has moderated discussion panels with Jon Fosse, Joshua Cohen, Tom McCarthy, Benjamin Labatut, and Hari Kunzru. His popular newsletter, Obstructive Fictions, explores the world of the anti-realist novel. He lives in California with his family and is working on an essay collection and a novel.

November 9, 2021